Vision Music Forum Index Vision Music
Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Comping and Walking Bass
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Vision Music Forum Index -> Arranger's Workshop
View previous topic :: View next topic  
woland99

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 5:23 pm    Post subject: Comping and Walking Bass Reply with quote

How do you approach comping on new tune?
I have to admit I have hard time learning how to comp over
new song. I know several chord shapes and some connecting
ideas but apart from standard jazz blues I cannot really comp
any new standard on the spot. Or play walking bass/chords type
of comping on them.
Larry_DC

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still learning, but I tend to approach comping the way Joe Pass described the process. I try to come up with the bass line first, then follow up by dropping t he chords underneath. Sometimes I fall into a chord shape that I like that in turn makes me alter the bass line to accommodate it.
woland99

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One of the Jim Ferguson books "All Blues for Jazz Guitar" has some good
comping ideas. But just for jazz blues. There is one book in Aebersold
series: "Maiden Voyage - Guitar Voicing" that has all the guitar parts
from the "Maiden Voyage" volume (Impressions, Summertime, Watermelon
Man, Song for My father, Satin Doll, Maiden Voyage, Cantaloupe Island,
Footprints, Doxy and Autumn Leaves plus handful Aebersold's tunes).
Perhaps the way to go would be to study these arrangements and then
extrapolate the ideas to create my own comping for new standards.
Mark
VM Coach

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:30 pm    Post subject: Re: Comping and walking bass. Reply with quote

woland99 wrote: