Vision Music Forum Index Vision Music
Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Transcribing Bass Lines

View previous topic :: View next topic  
nylenny

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:37 pm    Post subject: Transcribing Bass Lines Reply with quote

As a guitarist, I try to transcribe bass lines. I've found that it helps me follow the changes when playing with bass players. The best two tricks I know for doing this are:
a) use good-quality headphones (otherwise the bass gets lost); open-backed are best
b) sing the bass line

I'd be interested in hearing what others think. Are there other guitarists out there that work on bass lines?
Larry_DC

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great topic, Lenny. When I started transcribing I would focus only on the instruments that soloed. Listening to them slowed down really got me interested in what rhythm section was doing. Nowadays when I transcribe I usually include bass and piano comping. Headphones are a good idea I had not thought about. The bass can be tricky to pick out, especially in the low register. And singing the bass line goes hand in hand with singing the solos in making it easier to remember and notate the material. I have found that transcribing bass lines has made it easier for me to develop my own lines when arranging chord melody. On a further note, transcribing what little I can from the piano parts has given me understanding of how to use rhythm and chord fragments.
nylenny

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good point Larry. There's so much more to transcribe than just the soloist's notes.