Vision Music Forum Index Vision Music
Community Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

LBM Progress

View previous topic :: View next topic  
nylenny

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 1:05 pm    Post subject: LBM Progress Reply with quote

I would like to start a new topic where people discuss the progress they are making with the bass LBM series -- successes, failures, lightbulb moments, etc.

I am a converting guitarist -- picking up bass at Mark's suggestion. I've just finished the second lesson in the LBM bass series. I'm amazed at how easy it is to pick up jazz bass after playing guitar with these lessons.

The most striking thing I've noticed is the power of the jazz language in the lessons. You can just "plug and play" with the two-fives. I found myself improvising almost immediately.

I really like the walks; I hope more are coming. I can now walk through a jazz blues in any key without too much trouble (that's gotta be about 15 to 25% of the repetoire). I find some technical challenges getting some of the triplet figures up to speed, but the first walk is in quarter notes, which I can take up to almost any reasonable speed.

I'm also noticing increased strength in my left hand from playing on suspension cables (er, bass strings).

These lessons make it almost effortless to switch over. I've been spending about an hour a day on them. I think it will probably take me about 3 months to get to the point where I'm comfortable jamming in a jazz situation, but let's see. The great language in the first two lessons is really a shortcut.
Larry_DC

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote